POP3 users may receive a large amount of email after the migration. The reason they may receive this old email, is that the user had previously opted to leave a copy of the mail on the server. The old server information is transferred to the new mail server during the migration and assigned a new ID. This will appear to the new server as new email and will appear in the email IN box for the user. This email can be deleted because it has been sent to the user in the past and is only a copy of mail that has been received. Be sure to look at the date of the email before deleting.
IMAP users may be confused when they see that their folders seem to have disappeared. The folders have not disappeared – the IMAP feature must remap the folders. To accomplish this, you will need to restart your client.
- If you are using an alternate email client…ie Outlook, Thunderbird or MacMail, you might experience the following:
- Folders and sub-folders missing (these are not deleted)
- This might not happen to everyone, but we still want to notify all users of this possible issue. These mail clients have been known to experience complications after changing the server settings and will need to be adjusted.
Why this happens:
- This usually happens for IMAP users and not POP3 users
- For IMAP users, this happens because all content (ie..folders, sub-folders, email) resides on our email server which is mapped from our server to your email client (thunderburd, outlook…etc) and will need to be re-mapped (which causes everything to seem missing)
Solution (Use as needed):
- Use the following adjustments to get your client working properly:
- Restart mail client
- Re-subscribe to folders
- Delete account and re-submit (If you are a POP user make sure you backup your email first)